National Asthma Education and Prevention Program Coordinating Committee


Past Meeting dates


The National Asthma Education and Prevention Program (NAEPP) Coordinating Committee consists of representatives from the major scientific, professional, governmental, and voluntary organizations interested in asthma. The Committee’s primary mission is to advise the NHLBI on matters concerning asthma and to facilitate the exchange of information on asthma activities among the member agencies and voluntary health organizations.

The NHLBI administers and coordinates the NAEPP Committee. The NAEPP Coordinating Committee meetings are open to the public and include presentations and discussion on a variety of topics concerning asthma, including activities and projects of the Committee.

Visit the NAEPP Program to learn more about this program, as well as the legislation that governs it and the NAEPP Coordinating Committee.



Robert Lemanske, Jr., M.D.

Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics

Department of Pediatrics

University of Wisconsin Hospital

Madison, WI 53792


Sheila Brown

Program Analyst

Indoor Environments Division

Office of Radiation and Indoor Air

Environmental Protection Agency

Washington, DC 20460


Kurtis S. Elward, M.D.

Clinical Professor Family Medicine

Virginia Commonwealth University

American Academy of Family Physicians

Leawood, KS 66211

Anne Mentro Fitzpatrick, Ph.D., RN

Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Division of Pulmonology, Allergy/Immunology,

Cystic Fibrosis, and Sleep

Department of Pediatrics

Emory University School of Medicine

Atlanta, GA 30322

Lynn B. Gerald, Ph.D.

Canyon Ranch Endowed Chair and Professor

Division of Health Promotion Sciences

Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health

University of Arizona

Tucson, AZ 85724

Joy Hsu, M.D.

Medical Officer

Division of Environmental Hazards & Health Effects

National Center for Environmental Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Chamblee, GA 30341

Elliot Israel, M.D.

Professor of Medicine

Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA 02115

Monica Kraft, M.D.

Professor and Chair of Medicine

American Thoracic Society

New York, NY 10004

Lynda Mitchell, M.A.

Chief Operating Officer

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America

Doylestown, PA 18902

Giselle Sarah Mosnaim, M.D.

Assistant Professor

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology

Milwaukee, WI 53202

Gary S. Rachelefsky, M.D.

American Academy of Pediatrics

Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

Lisa M. Wheatley, M.D., M.P.H.

Section Chief, Asthma and Airway Biology Section

Division of Allergy, Immunology & Transplantation

National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Disease

National Institutes of Health

Rockville, MD 20852

Juan P. Wisnivesky, D.Ph., M.D.


Department of Medicine

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

New York, NY 10029

Executive Secretary

James P. Kiley, Ph.D.

Executive Secretary

Director, Division of Lung Diseases

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

National Institutes of Health

Bethesda, MD 20892