The 2021 NIH Sleep Research Plan is based on a set of research needs and opportunities identified with input from researchers, public representatives, NIH workshop participants, and programmatic staff. The scientific recommendations are based on discussions with the members of the public attending SDRAB meetings, and representatives of NIH extramural programs participating in the NIH Sleep Research Coordinating Committee (SRCC), and the following Sleep Disorders Research Advisory Board Members as of December 2021:


Gabriel Haddad, M.D. 
Chairman and Distinguished Professor
Department of Pediatrics
University of California, San Diego
San Diego, California 92093

Mariana G. Figueiro, Ph.D. 
Professor and Director
Light and Health Research Center
Department of Population Health Science and Policy
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
One Gustave Place, Box 1077
New York, New York

Si Baker-Goodwin, Ed.D. 
Sleep Health Advocate
Brains Need Sleep
Greenville, South Carolina

Judette Louis, M.D., M.P.H. 
Associate Professor and Chair
College of Medicine Obstetrics & Gynecology
University of South Florida
Tampa, Florida 33606

Wendy Troxel, Ph.D. 
Senior Behavioral and Social Scientist  
Department of Sleep Behaviors
RAND Corporation
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15213

SDRAB Members (2016 – 2020)


Ravi Allada, M.D. 
Edward C. Stuntz Distinguished Professor
Chair, Department of Neurobiology
Northwestern University
Evanston, Illinois 60208

Mona El-Sheikh, Ph.D.  
Leonard Peterson and Co., Inc. Professor
Department of Human Development and Family Studies
Auburn University
Auburn, Alabama 36849

Clete A. Kushida, M.D., Ph.D. 
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Stanford University Medical Center
Medical Director, Stanford Sleep Medicine Center
Director, Stanford Center for Human Sleep Research
Redwood City, California 94063

Ketema N. Paul, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor
Department of Integrative Biology and Physiology
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California  90095

Susan Plawsky 
Circadian Sleep Disorders Network
Lynn, Massachusetts 01902

Naresh M. Punjabi, M.D., Ph.D.
Mary Jane and Lino Sertel Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Miami, Florida 33136

Nancy H. Rothstein, M.B.A. 
The Sleep Ambassador®
Chicago, Illinois

Linda R. Secretan 
Restless Legs Syndrome Foundation
Eagle, Idaho 83616

Virend K. Somers, M.D., Ph.D.   
Division of Cardiovascular Diseases
Director, Sleep/Cardiovascular Core Lab
Mayo Clinic at Rochester
Rochester, Minnesota 55905

Julea Steiner, Ph.D. 
Clinical Assistant Professor
Director of Professional Development
University of North Carolina
Gillings School of Global Public Health
Public Health Leadership Program
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599

Patrick J. Strollo, Jr., M.D. 
Professor of Medicine and Clinical and Translational Science
Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine
Medical Director, UPMC Sleep Medicine Center
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15213

Kenneth P. Wright Jr., Ph.D. 
Professor of Distinction and Associate Chair
Sleep and Chronobiology Laboratory
Department of Integrative Physiology
University of Colorado
Boulder, Colorado 80309-0354 

Other Significant Contributors to the NIH Sleep Research Plan


Michael Twery, Ph.D.
Director of NCSDR from 2006 – November 2020

Michelle Hamlett, Ph.D.
Past transNIH Sleep Research Coordinating Committee liaison from NINR, now with the NIH All of Us Program

Sairam Parthasarathy, M.D.
Professor, Medicine
Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Director, Center for Sleep and Circadian Sciences, UA Health Sciences
Medical Director, Center for Sleep Disorders, Banner – University Medical Center Tucson

External Advisors:

Daniel Gottlieb, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Associate Physician, Division of Sleep and Circadian Disorders, Departments of Medicine and Neurology, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Director, Sleep Disorders Center, VA Boston Healthcare System

Thomas E. Scammell, M.D.
Professor of Neurology
Physician, Department of Neurology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Physician, Department of Neurobiology, Children's Hospital Boston