NHLBI Board of Scientific Counselors




Stultz, Collin, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Cambridge, MA 02139


Abruzzo, Lynne, M.D., Ph.D. 


Department of Pathology

College of Medicine

Ohio State University

Columbus, OH 43202

Robert Bonow, M.D.

Goldberg Distinguished Professor of Cardiology

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Northwestern Memorial Hospital

Chicago, IL 60611

Zea Borok, M.D.

Professor of Medicine

Ralph Edgington Chair in Medicine

Chief, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

University of Southern California

Los Angeles, CA 90033

Fogel, Mark, M.D. 

Division of Cardiology

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Professor, Departments of Pediatrics and Radiology

Perelman School of Medicine

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PA 19104

Weisz, Ora A., Ph.D. 


Department of Medicine and Cell Biology and Physiology

University of Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, PA 15261

Pending Members

Janis Abkowitz, M.D.

Clement A. Finch Professor of Medicine

Head, Division of Hematology

Adjunct Professor of Genome Sciences

University of Washington School of Medicine

Seattle, WA 98195

Donald Bers, Ph.D.

Silva Chair for Cardiovascular Research

Distinguished Professor & Chair

Department of Pharmacology

University of California, Davis

Davis, CA 95616

Veronique Roger, M.D., M.P.H.

Professor of Medicine

Professor of Epidemiology

Chair, Department of Health Sciences Research

Director, Mayo Clinic Center for the Science of Healthcare Delivery

Mayo Clinic

Rochester, MN 55905

Elizabeth Shpall, M.D.

Professor and Deputy Department Chair

Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy

The University of Texas

MD Anderson Cancer Center

Houston, TX 77030

Scientific Review Administrator

Executive Secretary

Balaban, Robert S., Ph.D.

Division of Intramural Research

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

National Institute of Health

Bethesda, Maryland 20892