Skip Navigation

  • PRINT  | 


Orloff Award Winners

Manfred Boehm - Orloff Award Winner

Manfred Boehm, M.D. is a senior investigator in the Laboratory of Cardiovascular Regenerative Medicine at the NHLBI. The Boehm Lab’s research interests are to identify and better understand the molecular mechanisms underlying human vascular diseases and to develop new therapeutic approaches. Dr. Boehm and his team won an Orloff Award for investigating how genetic mutations cause a syndrome of sporadic fevers, skin rashes, and recurring strokes beginning early in childhood.

Cynthia Dunbar - Orloff Award Winner

Cynthia Dunbar, M.D. is a senior investigator in the Molecular Hematopoiesis Section. Dr. Dunbar’s research focuses on understanding the process of hematopoiesis in vivo, as well as on optimizing and improving the safety of gene transfer into primary hematopoietic cells for therapeutic purposes. Dr. Dunbar and her team won an Orloff Award for better treatment options for aplastic anemia aimed at stimulating stem cells in the bone marrow to create key blood component.

Stewart Levine and Jay Chung - Orloff Award Winners

Stewart Levine, M.D. is a senior investigator in the Laboratory of Asthma and Lung Inflammation, focusing on developing new treatment approaches for patients with severe asthma. Jay Chung, M.D., Ph.D. is a senior investigator in the Laboratory of Obesity and Aging Research and his primary research interest is in understanding how aging decreases our ability to burn calories and generate energy. Dr. Levine, Dr. Chung, and their teams won an Orloff Award for discovering a potential novel therapy for asthma.

Hong Xu - Orloff Award Winner

Hong Xu, Ph.D. is a tenure track investigator in the Laboratory of Molecular Genetics. Dr. Xu’s group is using the well-honed tools of Drosophila genetics, while applying some new innovations, to study how mtDNA mutations are governed by tissue specificity and other factors to create disparate pathologies. Dr. Xu and his team won an Orloff Award for solving the mystery of how mothers pass healthy mitochondria to their children.


Technical Award Winners

Bernard Brooks and Team: For further developing the CHARMMING Web Interface as a tool for computational biophysics education

Keir Neuman, Ph.D. and Team: For development of wide-field in vivo background free imaging via magnetic modulation of fluorescent nanodiamond emission

Adrian Ferré-D'Amaré, Ph.D. and Team: For structure determination of a fluorescent RNA mimic of GFP

Robert Fischer, Ph.D.,  Clare Waterman, Ph.D. and Teams: For deciphering the role of myosin II in endothelial cell angiogenic migration in 3D using novel computer vision analysis tools