National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute

Cardiovascular Epidemiology, Biostatistics,
and Preventive Medicine Training Programs

Program Directors and NHLBI Program Staff


Program Directors

David B. Allison, Ph.D. (Director)
Professor
Department of Biostatistics-Statistical Genetics
University of Alabama at Birmingham
RPHB 327
1530 3rd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35294-0022
tel: (205) 975-9169
fax: (205) 975-2540
send e-mail (dallison@uab.edu)
To The University of Alabama Training Program Description

Josef Coresh, M.D, Ph.D. (Director)
Professor, Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Medicine
The Johns Hopkins University
2024 East Monument Street, Suite 2-600
Baltimore, MD 21287
tel: (410) 955-0495
fax: (410) 955-0476
send e-mail (coresh@jhu.edu)
To The Johns Hopkins Training Program Description

Michael H. Criqui, M.D, M.P.H. (Director)
Chief of the Division of Preventive Medicine
Department of Family and Preventive Medicine
Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine
University of California San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0607
La Jolla, CA 92093-0607
tel: (858) 534-3722
send e-mail (mcriqui@ucsd.edu)
To The University of california San Diego Training Program Description

Marie Davidian, Ph.D. (Director)
Department of Statistics
Box 8203, 2501 Founders
Drive, 220 Patterson Hall, North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-8203
tel: (919)-515-1940
fax: (919) 515-1169
send e-mail (davidian@stat.ncsu.edu)
To The University of North Carolina Training Program Description

Elizabeth DeLong, Ph.D. (Co-Director)
Duke Clinical Research Institute
Room 0311 Terrace Level
2400 Pratt Street
Durham,NC 27705
tel: (919)-668-8727
send e-mail (elizabeth.delong@duke.edu)
To the University of North Carolina Training Program Description

Martha Daviglus, PhD. (Director)
Northwestern University
Department of Preventive Medicine
680 N. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, Il 60611
tel: (608) 263-1706
send e-mail (daviglus@northwestern.edu)
To Northwestern University Training Program Description

David DeMets, PhD. (Director)
School of Medicine and Public Health
Department of Biostatistics and medeical Informants
CSC K6/4 Box 4676
600 Highland avenue
Madison, WI 53792
tel: (608) 263-1706
send e-mail (demets@biostat.wisc.edu)
To University of Wisconsin Training Program Description

Robert C. Elston, Ph.D. (Director)
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Wolstein Research Building
10900 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, Ohio 44106-7281
tel: (216) 368-5630
fax: (216) 368-4880
send e-mail (robert.elston@case.edu)
To Case Western Reserve University Training Program Description

Aaron Folsom, M.D, M.P.H. (Director)
Professor
Division of Epidemiology
School of Public Health
University of Minnesota
1300 South Second Street, Suite 300
Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015
tel: (612) 626-8862
fax: (612) 624-0315
send e-mail (folsom@umn.edu)
To The University of Minnesota Training Program Description

Stephen Fortmann, M.D. (Director)
CF Rehnborg Professor in Disease Prevention
Director, Stanford Prevention Research Center
Stanford University School of Medicine
Hoover Pavilion, MC5705
211 Quarry Road, Room N229
Stanford, CA 94305-5705
tel: (650) 723-6145
fax: (650) 725-6906
send e-mail (fortmann@Stanford.edu)
send e-mail to assistants (SJAyres@Stanford.edu)
To Stanford University Training Program Description

David Goff (Director)
Professor
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
tel: (336) 716-9837
fax: (336) 713-4300
send e-mail (dgoff@wfu.edu)
To Northwestern University Training Program Description

Gerardo Heiss, M.D. (Director)
Professor of Epidemiology
Wayne D. Rosamond, Ph.D. (Co-Director)
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
Department of Epidemiology
School of Public Health
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
137 E. Franklin St., Suite 306
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
tel: (919) 962-3253
fax: (919) 966-9800
send e-mail (gerardo_heiss@unc.edu) send e-mail (wayne.rosamond@mail.cscc.unc.edu)
To The University of North Carolina CVD Epidemiology Training Program Description

David Herrington, M.D. (Director)
Professor
Department of Internal Medicine/Cardiology
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
tel: (336) 716-4950
fax: (336) 716-9188
send e-mail (dherring@wfubmc.edu)
To Wake Forest University Training Program Description

David Levine, M.D., M.P.H., Sc.D. (Director)
Professor of Medicine, Hygiene, Nursing
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
720 Rutland Avenue
Ross Building, Room 971
Baltimore, MD 21205
tel: (410) 614-4577
fax: (410) 614-5593
send e-mail (dlevine@jhmi.edu)
To Johns Hopkins University Training Program Description

Thomas Lumley, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Biostatistics
School of Public Health
University of Washington
Box 357232
Seattle, WA 98195-7232
tel: (206) 543-1044
fax: (206) 543-3286
send e-mail (tlumley@u.washington.edu)
To The University of Washington Training Program Description

Karen Matthews, Ph.D. (Director)
Professor
University of Pittsburgh
Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
3811 O'Hara Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
tel: (412) 246-5950
fax: (412) 246-5333
send e-mail (matthewska@upmc.edu)
To the University of Pittsburgh Training Program Description

Thomas Pearson, MD, M.P.H., Ph.D. (Director)
Professor and Chair
Department of Community and Preventive Medicine
University of Rochester
601 Elmwood Avenue
Box 644
Rochester, New York 14642
tel: (585) 275-2191
fax: (585) 756-7775
send e-mail (thomas_pearson@urmc.rochester.edu)
To The University of Rochester Training Program Description

D.C. Rao, Ph.D. (Director)
Division of Biostatistics
Washington University School of Medicine
660 South Euclid Avenue, Campus Box 8067
St. Louis, Missouri 63110
tel: (314) 362-3608
fax: (314) 362-2693
send e-mail (rao@wubios.wustl.edu)
To Washington University Training Program Description
Co-Director: Anne Bowcock, Ph.D.
Division of Human Genetics, Department of Genetics
Washington University School of Medicine
660 South Euclid Avenue, Campus Box 8232
St. Louis, Missouri 63110
tel: (314) 747-3261
fax: (314) 747-2489

Paul Ridker, M.D, M.P.H. (Director)
Director, Cardiovascular Research
Julie E. Buring, Scd., Co-Director
Deputy Director
Division of Preventive Medicine
Brigham and Women's Hospital
900 Commonwealth Avenue East
Boston, MA 02215-1204
tel: (617) 732-4965
fax: (617) 731-3843
send e-mail(pridker@partners.org)
send e-mail (jburing@rics.bwh.harvard.edu)
To Brigham and Women's Hospital Training Program Description

Neil Schneiderman, Ph.D. (Director)
Professor
University of Miami
Department of Psychology
P. 0.60x248185
Coral Gables, PL 33124-0751
tel: (305) 284-5467
fax: (305) 284-6825
send e-mail (nschneid@miami.edu)
To the University of Miami Training Program Description

David S. Siscovick, M.D, MPH (Director)
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Epidemiology
Bruce M. Psaty, M.D, Ph.D (Co-director)
Associate Professor
Departments of Medicine and Epidemiology
Cardiovascular Health Research Unit
University of Washington
1730 Minor Avenue, Suite 1360
Seattle, WA 98101
tel: (206) 287-2777
fax: (206) 287-2662
send e-mail(dsisk@u.washington.edu) send e-mail(psaty@u.washington.edu)
To The University of Washington CVD Epidemiology Training Program Description

Brian Strom, M.P.H., M.D., B.S. (Director)
Professor
University of Pennsylvania
Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics
824 Blockley/6021
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6021
tel: (215) 898-2368
fax: (215) 573-5315
send e-mail (bstrom@cceb.med.upenn.edu)
To the University of Pennsylvania Training Program Description

Hemant K. Tiwari, Ph.D. (Director)
Department of Boistatistics
University of Alabama at Birmingham
1530 3rd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35294-0022
tel: (205) 934-4907
fax: (205) 975-2541
send e-mail (htiwari@uab.edu)
To The University of Alabama Training Program Description

Kim Tyrrell, DrPH, MPH (Director)
Professor of Epidemiology, Graduate School of Public Health
University of Pittsburgh
130 DeSoto Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15261
tel: (412) 624-1122
fax: (412) 624-7397
send e-mail (tyrrell@edc.pitt.edu)

Rena Wing, Ph.D. (Director)
Professor
The Miriam Hospital
Centers for Behavioral and Preventive Medicine
Coro Building, Suite 500
One Hoppin Street
Providence, Rl 02903
tel: (401) 793-8959
fax: (401) 793-8944
send e-mail (rwing@lifespan.org)
To The Miriam Hospital Training Program Description

NHLBI Program Staff

Paul Sorlie, Ph.D.
Chief, Epidemiology Branch
Division of Prevention and Population Sciences
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
II Rockledge Center
6701 Rockledge Drive, MSC 7936
Bethesda, MD 20892-7936
tel: (301) 435-0456
fax: (301) 480-1667
send e-mail (sorliep@nih.gov)

Lorraine Silsbee, M.H.S.
Scientific Program Specialist
Epidemiology Branch
Division of Prevention and Population Sciences
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
II Rockledge Center
6701 Rockledge Drive, MSC 7936
Bethesda, MD 20892-7936
tel: (301) 435-0709
fax: (301) 480-1667
send e-mail (silsbeel@nih.gov)

Lawrence Fine, M.D., Dr.PH.
Chief, Clinical Applications and Prevention Branch
Division of Prevention and Population Sciences
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
II Rockledge Center
6701 Rockledge Drive, MSC 7936
Bethesda, MD 20892-7936
tel: (301) 435-0305
fax: (301) 480-1669
send e-mail (finel@nhlbi.nih.gov)

Charlotte Pratt, M.S., Ph.D., R.D.
Scientific Program Specialist
Clinical Applications and Prevention Branch
Division of Prevention and Population Sciences
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
II Rockledge Center
6701 Rockledge Drive, MSC 7936
Bethesda, MD 20892-7936
tel: (301) 435-0382
fax: (301) 480-5158
send e-mail (prattc@nhlbi.nih.gov)

Last updated: September, 2009

Back to the top

Skip footer links and go to content
Twitter iconTwitterExternal link Disclaimer         Facebook iconFacebookimage of external link icon         YouTube iconYouTubeimage of external link icon         Google+ iconGoogle+image of external link icon