Sleep Disorders Research Advisory Board (SDRAB) Meeting – December 2, 2021



The purpose of this meeting is to update the Advisory Board and public stakeholders on the sleep research agenda across NIH for the upcoming fiscal year and the activities of professional societies. Included among the topics will be the status of the 2021 NIH Sleep Research Plan.

Federal Register Notice: FR Document 2021-22828

Webinar ID: 161 159 8968
Passcode: 563804


12:00 p.m.

Marishka K. Brown, Ph.D.
Executive Secretary

  • Confidentiality/Conflict of Interest Procedures
  • Public Meeting, [22828], October 20, 2021
  • Introduction of the SDRAB Chairperson: Gabriel Haddad, M.D.
  • Introduction of the SDRAB Members and Ex Officio Members

12:10 p.m.
Welcoming Remarks

12:15 p.m.
Report from the National Center on Sleep Disorders Research (NCSDR)

12:25 p.m.
National Sleep Research Resource (NSRR)

National Sleep Research Resource (NSR)

Shaun Purcell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Susan Redline, M.D., M.P.H
Peter C. Farrell Professor of Sleep Medicine
Harvard Medical School Professor of Epidemiology
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

12:50 p.m.
Millennium Cohort Study

Millennium Cohort Study

Rudolph Rull, Ph.D., M.P.H., Principal Investigator
Isabel Jacobson, Ph.D.
Sheila Castaneda, Ph.D.

1:15 p.m.
Updates from Stakeholder Groups

1:35 p.m.

1:45 p.m.
Public Comment (20 minutes total, 3-5 minutes each, including Q&A)

2:05 p.m.
Federal Stakeholder Updates

  • National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Center for Work and Fatigue Research
    Imelda S. Wong, Ph.D.

  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
    Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
    Shahla Jilani, M.D.
    Deputy Chief Medical Officer

2:45 p.m.
BREAK - 15 minutes

3:00 p.m.
Leadership Lens

Walter J. Koroshetz, M.D.
Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

4:00 p.m.
Scientific Presentation

David M. Holtzman, M.D.
Professor and Chair of Neurology, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Scientific Director, Hope Center for Neurological Disorders

4:25 p.m.
Trans-NIH Sleep Research Coordinating Committee Programmatic Focus

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
Ivana Grakalic, Ph.D.
Program Officer, Division of Neuroscience and Behavior

Dominique Lorang-Leins, Ph.D.
Program Officer, Division of Neuroscience and Behavior

Shailesh Kumar, Ph.D.
Program Officer, Division of Neuroscience and Behavior

4:45 p.m.
Upcoming Events/Closing remarks

5:00 p.m.
Meeting Adjourns