The 2021 NIH Sleep Research Plan is based on a set of research needs and opportunities identified with input from researchers, public representatives, NIH workshop participants, and programmatic staff. The scientific recommendations discussed herein are based on discussions with the Sleep Disorders Research Advisory Board (SDRAB) members of the public attending SDRAB meetings, and the following representatives of NIH extramural programs participating in the NIH Sleep Research Coordinating Committee (SRCC) as of December 2021:

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Marishka Brown, Ph.D.

Aaron Laposky, Ph.D.

Shilpy Dixit, Ph.D.

Lawrence Baizer, Ph.D.

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

Ivana Grakalic, Ph.D.

Dominique Lorang-Leins, Ph.D.

Shailesh Kumar, Ph.D.

National Institute of Aging

Miroslaw (Mack) Mackiewicz, Ph.D.

National Cancer Institute

Todd Horowitz, Ph.D.

Kara Hall, Ph.D.

Joanna Watson, Ph.D.

Dan Xi, Ph.D.

Carolyn Reyes-Guzman, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Marissa Shams-White, Ph.D., M.S.T.O.M, M.S., M.P.H

Jennifer Guida, Ph.D, M.P.H.

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health & Human Development

Karen C. Lee, M.D., M.P.H.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health

Inna Belfer, M.D., Ph.D.

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Conrad Mallia, Ph.D.

National Institute of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Disease

Karen Teff, Ph.D.

Corinne Silva, Ph.D.

National Institute on Drug Abuse

Roger Little, Ph.D.

Amy Lossie, Ph.D.

National Institute of General Medical Sciences

Michael Sesma, Ph.D.

National Institute of Mental Health

Aleksandra Vicentic, Ph.D.

David I. Leitman, Ph.D.

Laura Rowland, Ph.D.

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

Rina Das, Ph.D.

Nancy Jones, Ph.D.

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

Janet He, Ph.D.

National Institute of Nursing Research

Karen Huss, Ph.D.

Office for Research on Women's Health

Jamie White, M.S.

Shilpa Amin, M.D.

Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research

Dana Schloesser, Ph.D.

Caitlin Burgdorf, Ph.D.

Office Dietary Supplements

Barbara Sorkin, Ph.D.