NHLBI Board of Scientific Counselors



- NHLBI Board of Scientific Counselors

Donald M. Bers, Ph.D.

Silva Chair for Cardiovascular Research

Distinguished Professor & Chair of Pharmacology 

University of California, Davis

Davis, CA 95616

Collin Stultz, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Cambridge, MA 02139

- NHLBI Board of Scientific Counselors

Janis Abkowitz, M.D.  

Clement A. Finch Professor of Medicine 

Head, Division of Hematology 

Adjunct Professor of Genome Science

University of Washington School of Medicine 

Seattle, WA 98195

Robert Bonow, M.D.

Vice Chair for Development and Innovation, Department of Medicine

Max and Lilly Goldberg Distinguished Professor of Cardiology

Professor of Medicine (Cardiology)

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Chicago, IL 60611

Veronique Roger, M.D., M.P.H.

Director, Center for the Science of Health Care Delivery

Consultant, Division of Circulatory Failure, Department of Cardiovascular Medicine

Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine

Mayo Clinic 

Rochester, MN 55905

Elizabeth Shpall, M.D. 

Director, Cell Therapy Laboratory 

Director, Cord Blood Bank

Professor and Deputy, Department Chair, Department of Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy

Howard and Lee Chair in Cancer Research

University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Houston, Texas 77030

Ora Weisz, Ph.D. 

Professor of Medicine and Cell Biology

Vice Chair of Faculty Development, Department of Medicine

Associate Dean for Faculty Development, School of Medicine

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Faculty Excellence, Health Sciences

University of Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Scientific Review Administrator
- NHLBI Board of Scientific Counselors

Executive Secretary

Robert S. Balaban, Ph.D.

Division of Intramural Research

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

National Institute of Health

Bethesda, Maryland 20892