Skip left side navigation and go to content
NHLBI logo (heart and lungs)

NHLBI WORKSHOP on
Women and Ischemia Syndrome Evaluation (WISE):
Diagnosis and Pathophysiology of Ischemic Heart Disease

October 2-4, 2002
Marriott Inn
Baltimore Washington International Airport

NW Native American owl

[ WISE Home ] [ Agenda ] [ Participants ] [ NHLBI Home ]

PARTICIPANTS

Robert Bonow, M.D.
Professor and Chief
Northwestern University Medical School
Northwestern Memorial Hospital
201 East Huron Street, Suite 10-240
Chicago, Illinois 60611
(312) 695-1052
Fax: (312) 908-3843
r-bonow@northwestern.edu
c-godines@northwestern.edu

John Canto, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Medicine & Epidemiology
Divisions, Cardiology & Preventive Medicine
Center for Outcomes & Effectiveness Research &
Education
Director, Chest Pain Center & Co-Director, CCU
University of Alabama at Birmingham
The Kirklin Clinic, 4th Floor
2000 6th Avenue South
Birmingham, Alabama 35249
(205) 934-9999
jcanto@uab.edu

Jane Cao, M.D.
Cardiovascular Institute
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Henry Ford Health System
2799 West Grand Boulevard
Detroit, Michigan 48202
(313) 972-1920
Fax: (313) 972-1921
jcao@hjhs.org

Robert Califf, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Associate Vice Chancellor
Duke University
Cardiology North, Box 31123
Durham, North Carolina 27710
(919) 286-8820
Fax: (919) 286-4838
calif001@mc.duke.edu

Peter Collins, M.D.
Professor of Clinical Cardiology
Department of Cardiac Medicine
National Heart and Lung Institute
Faculty of Medicine
Imperial College of Science, Technology &
Medicine
Dovehouse Street
London, SW3 6LY, UK
+44 207 351 8112
Fax: +44 207 823 3392
Peter.Collins@ic.ac.uk

George Diamond, M.D.
2448 Wild Oak Drive
Los Angeles, California 90068
(323) 462-0600
gadiamond@pol.net

John Finnegan, Jr., Ph.D.
Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
School of Public Health
University of Minnesota
420 Delaware Street, SE MMC 197, Room A306
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455-0381
(612) 626-4937
Finnegan@epi.umn.edu

David Goff, Jr., M.D.
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Section on Epidemiology
Interim Director, Health Services Research Center
Department of Public Health Services
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157-1063
(336) 716-9837
Fax: (336) 716-5425
dgoff@wfubmc.edu

Robert Goldberg, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Department of Cardiology
55 Lake Avenue North
Worcester, Massachusetts 01655
(508) 856-3191
GoldberR@ummhc.org

Sharrone Hayes, M.D.
Director, Mayo Clinic Women's Heart Clinic
Mayo Clinic, 200 First Street, S.W.
Rochester, Minnesota 55905
(507) 284-8612
Fax: (507) 284-8137
hayes.sharonne@mayo.edu

David Herrington, M.D.
Professor
Department of Internal Medicine/Cardiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157-1045
kklein@wfubmc.edu

Mark Hlatky, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Stanford University
HRP Redwood Building
Stanford, California 94305-5405
(650) 723-6426
Fax: (650) 725-6951
hlatky@stanford.edu

Judy Hsia, M.D.
Professor, Department of Medicine
George Washington University
Director, Lipid Research Clinic
2300 Eye Street N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 721-2321
jhsia@mfa.gwu.edu

Willa Hsueh, M.D.
Professor, Department of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology: Diabetes-Hypertension
University of California at Los Angeles
Department of Medicine
School of Medicine
Warren Hall, Suite 24-130, Box 957073
900 Veteran Avenue
Los Angeles, California 90095-7073
(310) 794-7555
Fax: (310) 794-7654
whsueh@mednet.ucla.edu

Paula Johnson, M.D.
Chief, Division of Women's Health
Director, Center for Cardiovascular Disease
in Women
Brigham & Women's Hospital
75 Francis Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02115
(617) 732-8985
pajohnson@partners.org

Delia Johnson, Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh, GSPH
130 DeSoto Street
127 Parran Hall
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15261
(412) 624-7256
Fax: (412) 624-3775
djohnson@edc.pitt.edu

Sheryl Kelsey, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Epidemiology
University of Pittsburgh
Graduate School of Public Health
130 DeSoto Street
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15261
(412) 624-5157
Fax: (412) 624-7397
kelsey@edc.gsph.pitt.edu

Ron Klein, M.D., M.P.H.
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Science
610 North Walnut Street
Room 450 WARF
Madison, Wisconsin 53705
(608) 263-7758
Fax: (608) 263-0279
kleinr@epi.ophth.wisc.edu

Robert Langer, Sc.D.
Professor of Chemical & Bioengineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Room E25-342
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139-4307
(617) 253-3123
Fax: (617-258-8827
langer-www@mit.edu

Amir Lerman, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Mayo Clinic
200 First Street, S.W.
Rochester, Minnesota 55905
(507) 255-4152 or (507) 284-2511
Fax: (507) 255-2550
lerman.amir@mayo.edu

Jannet Lewis, M.D.
George Washington University
Professor of Medicine
Director of Echocardiography
2150 Pennsylvania Avenue, 4th Floor
Washington, DC 20037
(202) 741-3333
jlewis@mfa.gwu.edu

Atilio Maseri, M.D.
Professor of Cardiology
Director, Cardio-Thoracic & Vascular Department
Universita Vita-Salute San Raffaele
Via Olgettina, 58
20132 Milan Italy
+39 02 2643-3068
Fax: +39 02 2643-2983
Maseri.attilo@hsr.it
bellucci.alessandra@hsr.it

Jean McSweeney, R.N., Ph.D.
President, Southern Nursing Research Society
Professor, University of Arkansas
College of Nursing Science
Plaza West Building, 100 Plaza West
Suite 280, Mail Slot 784
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205
(501) 296-1982
Fax: (501) 296-1765
mcsweeneyjeanc@uams.edu

Noel Bairey Merz, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine, UCLA
Director, Preventive Medicine & Rehabilitative
Department of Medicine
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
444 South San Vincente Boulevard, Suite 901
Los Angeles, California 90048
(310) 423-9662
Fax: (310) 423-9668
merz@cshs.org

Lori Mosca, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Preventive Cardiology
New York Presbyterian Hospital
Columbia University
ICCI PH 10-305D
622 West 168th Street
New York, New York 11032
(212) 305-4866
Fax: (212) 342-5238
ljm10@columbia.edu

Steve Nissen, M.D.
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
9500 Eculid Avenue
Desk F-15
Cleveland, Ohio 44195
(216) 445-6852
nissens@ccf.org

Pamela Ouyang, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University, Division of Cardiology
Bayview Medical Center
4940 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, Maryland 21224
(410) 550-0853
Fax: (410) 550-1183
pouyang@jhmi.edu

Carl Pepine, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
University of Florida
Chief of Cardiology
1600 Archer Road
Box 100277
Gainesville, Florida 32610-0277
(352) 846-0620
Fax: (352) 371-0370
pepincj@medicine.ufl.edu

Gerald Pohost, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
University of Southern California
Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Keck School of Medicine
1355 San Pablo, Suite 117
Los Angeles, California 90089-9231
(323) 442-5480
Fax: (323) 442-5481
pohost@usc.edu

Rita Redberg, M.D., MSc
Professor of Medicine
Director, Cardiovascular Women's Health Services
UCSF National Center of Excellence in Women's
Health
University of California, San Francisco
505 Parnassus Avenue, M1180
San Francisco, California 94143-0124
(415) 476-6874
Fax: (415) 502-8627
redberg@medicine.ucsf.edu

Steven Reis, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Pittsburgh
Scaiffe Hall, S570
200 Lothrop Street
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15213-2582
(412) 647-5840
Fax: (412) 647-5840
reisse@msx.upmc.edu

William Rogers, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiology
University of Alabama
UAB Medical Center
334 LHR Building
701 South 19th Street
Birmingham, Alabama 35294-0007
(205) 934-4791
Fax: (205) 934-0754
wrogers@uab.edu

Harry Selker, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Tufts University
Chief, Division of Clinical Care Research
New England Medical Center #63
750 Washington Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02111
(617) 636-2221
Fax: (617) 636-8023
hselker@lifespan.org

Barry Sharaf, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Brown University
Division of Cardiology
The Rhode Island Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903-4923
(401) 444-8540
Fax: (401) 444-8158
barry sharaf@brown.edu

Richey Sharrett, Ph.D.
Senior Associate
Department of Epidemiology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, Maryland 21220
(301) 435-0707

Leslee Shaw, Ph.D.
ACRI
5665 Peachtree Dunwoody Road, N.E.,
Suite 225
Atlanta, Georgia 30342
lshaw@ACRI.com

David Sheps, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Associate Director
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
University of Florida
Chief, Cardiology Section VAMC
1601 S.W. Archer Road
Gainesville, Florida 32608-1197
(352)379-4159
Fax: (352) 271-4537
stewajm@medicine.ufl.edu

Marcia Stefanick, Ph.D.
Stanford University
Stanford Center for Research in Disease Prevention
730 Welch Road, Suite B
Palo Alto, California 94304-1583
(650) 725-5041

Russell Tracy, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology & Biochemistry
Director, Laboratory for Clinical Biochemistry Research
University of Vermont
Colchester Research Facility
55A South Park Drive
Colchester, Vermont 05446
(802) 656-8968
(802) 656-8965
Russell.tracy@uvm.edu

Viola Vaccarino, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine
Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology
and Rollins School of Public Health
Department of Epidemiology
1256 Briarcliff Road, Suite 1 North
Atlanta, Georgia 30306
(404) 727-5472
Fax: (404) 727-6495
Ivaccar@emory.edu

Renu Virmani, M.D.
Chair, Cardiovascular Pathology
Department of Cardiovascular Pathology
Armed Forces Institute of Pathology
6825 16th Street, N.W.
Building 54, Room 2005
Washington, D.C. 20306-6000
(202) 782-2844
Fax: (202) 782-9021
virmani@afip.osd.mil

David Waters, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
Director, Division of Cardiology
San Francisco General Hospital
Box 0846, NH 5G1
San Francisco, California 94143
(415) 206-8320
Fax: (415) 206-5100
dwaters@medsfgh.ucsf.edu

[ WISE Home ] [ Agenda ] [ Participants ] [ NHLBI Home ]

Please send your feedback, comments, and questions to Suzanne Goldberg at goldbergs@nhlbi.nih.gov.

Skip footer links and go to content
Twitter iconTwitterExternal link Disclaimer         Facebook iconFacebookimage of external link icon         YouTube iconYouTubeimage of external link icon         Google+ iconGoogle+image of external link icon