Skip left side navigation and go to content
NHLBI
NIA
NINDS
heart picture

Neurocognitive Changes Following Cardiac Surgery

April 4-5, 2002
Cloister Mary Woodward Lasker Center,
National Institutes of Health

brain picture

[Main][Abstracts][Agenda (PDF 30 K)
Information on PDF][Planning Committee][Participants]

NEUROCOGNITIVE WORKSHOP PARTICIPANT CONTACT LIST


Workshop Co-Chairs

Myron D. Ginsberg, MD
Director, Cerebral Vascular Disease Research Center
University of Miami School of Medicine
Miami, FL 33101
305-243-6449
mdginsberg@stroke.med.miami.edu

Timothy Gardner, MD
Chief, Cardiothoracic Surgery Division
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4227
215-662-2022
gardnert@uphs.upenn.edu

NIH/NHLBI Workshop Coordinator

Patrice Desvigne-Nickens, MD
Leader, Cardiovascular Medicine Research Group
Division of Heart and Vascular Diseases
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Bethesda, MD 20892-7940
301-435-0515
DesvignP@nhlbi.nih.gov

Session 1: Definition of the Problem

Moderators

Guy M. McKhann, MD
Zanvyl Krieger Mind/Brain Institute
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD 21218
410-516-8640
guy.mckhann@jhu.edu

Mark F. Newman, MD
Department of Anesthesiology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
919-681-6646
newma005@mc.duke.edu

NIH Staff

Molly Wagster, PhD
Director, Neuropsychology of Aging Program
National Institute on Aging
Bethesda, MD 20892-9205
301-496-9350
wagster@nia.nih.gov

Speakers and Discussants

Merrill F. Elias, PhD, MPH
Dept of Mathematics and Statistics
Boston University
Boston, MA 02215
617-353-8092
mfelias@aol.com

Hilary P. Grocott, MD
Department of Anesthesiology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
919-681-5024
h.grocott@duke.edu

Ruben Gur, PhD
Neuropsychiatry Section
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215-662-2915
gur@bbl.med.upenn.edu

Dixon M. Moody, MD
Department of Radiology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Winston Salem, NC 27157-1088
336-716-2485
dmmoody@wfubmc.edu

Juan C. Troncoso, MD
Department of Pathology
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD 21205-2196
410-955-5632
troncoso@jhmi.edu

Alison E. Baird, MD, PhD
Stroke Diagnostics & Therapeutics
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
Bethesda, MD 20892-4129
301-896-2945
bairda@ninds.nih.gov

Venkata R. Challa, MD
Department of Pathology
Wake Forest-Baptist Medical Center
Winston Salem, NC 27157-1088
336-716-2630
vchalla@wfubmc.edu

David J. Madden, PhD
Psychology & Behavioral Science Depts.
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
919-660-7537
djm@geri.duke.edu

Ola A. Selnes, PhD
Cognitive Neurology
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore, MD 21287-7222
410-955-6431
oselnes@jhmi.edu

Session 2: Surgical Issues

Moderators

O. Howard Frazier, MD
Chief of Transplant Services
Texas Heart Institute
Houston, TX 77030
832-355-3005
knowlin@heart.thi.tmc.edu

John W. Hammon, Jr., MD
Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Winston Salem, NC 27157-1096
336-716-6002
jhammon@wfubmc.edu

NIH Staff

George Sopko, MD
Cardiovascular Medicine Research Group
Division of Heart and Vascular Diseases
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Bethesda, MD 20892-7940
301-435-0515
Sopkog@nhlbi.nih.gov

Speakers and Discussants

Mercedes Dullum, MD
Department of Cardiology
Washington Hospital Center
Washington, DC 20010
202-291-1430
mkcd@earthlink.net

Maura Grega, RN, MSN
Department of Cardiac Surgery
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD 21287-4933
410-955-4348
mgrega@csurg.jhmi.jhu.edu

Ronald M. Lazar, PhD
Neurology and Neurological Surgery
Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center
New York, NY 10032
212-305-4749
ral22@columbia.edu

Eric A. Rose, MD, FACS
Chair, Department of Surgery
Columbia University-NY Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY 10032
212-305-6380
ear3@columbia.edu

Julie A. Swain, MD
Division of Cardiovascular and Respiratory Devices
ODE/CDRH
Food and Drug Administration
Rockville, MD 20850
301-443-8609
jas4@cdrh.fda.gov

William A. Baumgartner, MD
Cardiac Surgeon-in-Charge
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD 21287-4618
410-955-5248
wbaumgar@csurg.jhmi.jhu.edu

L. Henry Edmunds, Jr., MD
Cardiothoracic Surgery/Dept of Surgery
University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215-662-2092
hank.edmunds@uphs.upenn.edu

Richard A. Jonas, MD
William E. Ladd Professor of Child Surgery
Children's Hospital Boston
Boston, MA 02115
617-355-7930
richard.jonas@tch.harvard.edu

John Murkin, MD
London Health Sciences Center
University of Western Ontario
London, Ontario, Canada, N6A 5A5
519-663-3384
jmurkin@julian.uwo.ca

David A. Stump, PhD
Dept. of Cardiothoracic Anesthesia
Wake Forest-Baptist Medical Center
Winston Salem, NC 27157
336-716-2329
dstump@wfubmc.edu

Session 3: Neuroprotection

Moderators

Walter D. Obrist, PhD
Department of Neurosurgery
Presbyterian University Hospital
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
941-639-9374 (Florida)

Richard J. Traystman, PhD
Director, Anesthesiology/Critical Care Medicine
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
Baltimore, MD 21287-4961
410-955-8157
rtraystm@jhmi.edu

NIH Staff

Mary Ellen Michel, PhD
Director, Repair and Plasticity Program
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
Bethesda, MD 20892-9525
301-496-1447
michelm@ninds.nih.gov

Speakers and Discussants

Pak H. Chan, Ph.D.
Department of Neurosurgery
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, CA 94305-5784
650-498-4457
phchan@leland.stanford.edu

Thomas F. Floyd, MD
Department of Anesthesia
University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215-662 3729
tff@mail.med.upenn.edu

David Gozal, MD
Kosair Children's Hospital Research Institute
University of Louisville School of Medicine
Louisville, KY 40202-1788
502-852-2322
david.gozal@louisville.edu

Michael A. Moskowitz, MD
Department of Neurology
Massachusetts General Hospital
Charlestown, MA 02129
617-726-8442
moskowit@helix.mgh.harvard.edu

Claudia Robertson, MD
Department of Neurosurgery
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX 77030
713-798-4696
claudiar@bcm.tmc.edu

Miguel A. Perez-Pinzon, PhD
Department of Neurology
University of Miami School of Medicine
Miami, FL 33101
305-243-6449
mperez@stroke.med.miami.edu

John A. Detre, MD
Department of Neurology
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-4283
215-662-6334
detre@mail.med.upenn.edu

Giora Z. Feuerstein, MD, PhD
Cardiovascular Sciences
DuPont Pharmaceuticals Company
Wilmington, DE 19880
302-695-1840
Giora.Z.Feuerstein@dupontpharma.com

David J. Pinsky, MD
Department of Medicine
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
New York, NY 10032
212-305-6071
djp5@columbia.edu

Donald S. Prough, MD
Department of Anesthesiology
University of Texas at Galveston Medical Center
Galveston, TX 77555-0591
409-772-2965
dsprough@utmb.edu

Skip footer links and go to content
Twitter iconTwitterExternal link Disclaimer         Facebook iconFacebookimage of external link icon         YouTube iconYouTubeimage of external link icon         Google+ iconGoogle+image of external link icon