Roster

NHLBI Workshop: CVD Prevention in High-Risk Rural Areas

June 14-15, 2010
Rockledge II Building
Bethesda, Maryland

Alice Ammerman, DrPH
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Center for Health Promotion & Disease Prevention
Department of Nutriotion
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
1700 Airport Road, Cb# 7426
Chapel Hill, NC 275997426
Tel: 919) 966-6082
Fax: 919) 966-6264
Email: alice_ammerman@unc.edu

Matilde Alvarado, R.N., M.S.N.
Minority Health Education and Outreach
Division for the Application of Research Discoveries
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
31 Center Drive, Building 31 Room 4A-20
Bethesda, Maryland 20892
Tel: (301) 496-1051
Fax: (301) 402-1051
Email:alvaradm@mail.nih.gov


Ligia Artiles, MA
National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities
National Institutes of Health
6707 Democracy Boulevard, Suite 800
Bethesda, Maryland 20892-5465
Tel: (301) 594-2827
Email: artilesl@mail.nih.gov www.ncmhd.nih.gov


Guadalupe X. Ayala, PH.D., MPH
Associate Professor, San Diego State University
Co-Director, San Diego Prevention Research Center
San Diego State University
9245 Sky Park Court, Suite 221
San Diego, CA 92123
Tel: (619) 966-6082
Fax: (619) 594-2998
Email: ayala@mail.sdsu.edu


Lyle Best, MD
Missouri Breaks Industries Research Inc
R.R.1, Box 88
Roulette, ND 58366
Tel: (701) 246-3884
Email: sbest@utma.com


Diane Bild, MD, MPH
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Two Rockledge Centre
6701 Rockledge Drive, MSC 7936
Bethesda, MD 20892-7936
Tel: (301) 435-0457
Fax: (301) 480-1864
Email: bildd@mail.nih.gov


Andrea L. Cherrington, M.D., MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
University of Alabama-Birmingham School of Medicine
FOT 725
Birmingham, AL
Tel: (205) 934-3007
Fax: (205) 975-5199
Email: cherrington@uab.edu


Valerie Darden
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, Maryland 20857
Mailstop 9A-55
Tel: (301) 443-0837
Email: vdarden@hrsa.gov


Christina D. Economos
Associate Professor
Gerald J. and Dorothy R. Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy
John Hancock Research Center
Jaharis Bldg -150 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02111
Tel: (617) 636-3784
Fax: (617) 636-2714
Email: christina.economos@tufts.edu


Rev. Danny F. Ellis, LPN, MBA, PH.D-ABD
Ellis Research and Consulting Service
www.Ellisconsultingservice.com
3514 Whetstone Pl
Wilson, NC 27896
Tel: (252) 234-7264
Email: ruone@simflex.com


Karen Fox, Ph.D.
Delta Health Alliance
P.O. Box 277
Stoneville, Mississippi 38776
Tel: 662-822-7678
Fax: 662-686-3522
Email: kfox@deltahealthalliance.org
blee@deltahealthalliance.org

Lawrence Green, DrPH
66 Santa Paula Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94143-0981
Tel: (415) 839-6360
Email: lwgreen@comcast.net www.lgreen.net


Jane L. Harman, DVM, Ph.D.
Program in Prevention and Population Sciences
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
6701 Rockledge Drive, Suite 10018
Bethesda, MD 20982-7936
Tel: (301) 435-1290
Fax: (301) 480-1455
Email: Harmanj@mail.nih.gov


Betsy Haughton, EdD, RD, LDN
Professor
Director, Public Health Nutrition
Department of Nutrition
1215 Cumberland Avenue
The University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-1920
Tel: (865) 974-6267
Fax: (865) 974-3491
Email: haughton@utk.edu


Steven Hooker, PhD
Director, Prevention Research Center
Public Health Research Center, 117
921 Assembly St.
Columbia, SC 29208
Tel: (803) 777-0266
Fax: (803) 777-9007
Email: shooker@mailbox.sc.edu

Leticia Ibarra, MPH
Director of Programs
Clinicas de Salud del Pueblo, Inc.
1166 K Street
Brawley, CA 92227
Office: 760-344-9951 ext.155
Tel: (760) 960-4234
Fax: (760) 344-4820
Email:  LeticiaI@cdsdp.org


Edward Donnell Ivy, MD, MPH
Medical Officer, Enhanced Dissemination and Utilization Branch
Division for the Application of Research Discoveries
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
31 Center Drive, MSC2480
Building 31, Room 4A-10
Bethesda, Maryland 20892-2480
Tel: (301) 496-1051
Fax: (301) 402-1051
Email: ivyed@mail.nih.gov


Neal Jeffries, Ph.D. Mathematical Statistician
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
Room 9197, MSC 7913
6701 Rockledge Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: (301) 451-2178
Fax: (301) 480-1862
Email: nealjeff@nhlbi.nih.gov


Jared B. Jobe, Ph.D., FABMR
Clinical Applications and Prevention Branch
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
NHLBI
Rockville, Maryland 20892
Tel: (301) 379-8781
Email: JobeJ@mail.nih.gov


Liljana Mamoorian Johnson, MPH
Community Health Specialist/ Case Manager
Urban Strategies, Inc.
C.J. Peete Community Center
2514 Washington Ave
New Orleans, LA 70113
Tel: (504) 894-6649
Email: Liljana.Johnson@urbanstrategiesinc.org www.UrbanStrategiesInc.org


Shiriki K. Kumanyika, Ph.D., MPH
Associate Dean for Health Promotion Disease Prevention
and Professor of Epidemiology,
Department of Biostatistics Epidemiology University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
CCEB, 8th Floor Blockley Hall,
U Penn School of Medicine
Philadelphia PA 19104
Tel: (215) 898-2629
Fax: (215) 573-5311
Email: skumanyi@mail.med.upenn.edu


Darwin R. Labarthe, MD, MPH, PhD
Director, Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 4770 Buford Highway, NE, Mailstop K-47
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
Tel: (770) 488.5629
Fax: (770) 488.5181
Email: dil3@cdc.gov


Stephanie Laws, RN, BSN
Project Associate
Richard G. Lugar Center for Rural Health
1433 North 6 1/2 Street
Terre Haute, IN 47807
Tel: (812) 238-7479
Fax: (812) 238-7439
Email: slaws@uhhg.org


Jeffrey Levi, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Trust for America's Health
1730 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-223-9870, ext. 24
Email: jlevi@TFAH.org


Cathy Melvin, Ph.D., MPH
200 North Greensboro Street
Carr Mill Mall, Suite D-13
Carrboro, NC 27510
Tel: (919) 966-8072
Fax: (919)966-4244
Email: cathy_melvin@unc.edu

Irene Dankwa-Mullan MD, MPH
Office of Innovation and Program Coordination
National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities
National Institutes of Health
6707 Democracy Blvd. Suite 800
Bethesda, MD 20892-5465
Tel: (301) 594-8758
Fax: (301) 480-4049
Email: dankwamullani@mail.nih.gov www.ncmhd.nih.gov

David M. Murray, Ph.D.
Ohio State University
College of Public Health
320 W. 10th Ave.
B-222 Starling Loving Hall
Columbus, OH 43210
Tel: (614) 293-2928
Fax: (614) 293-3937
Email: dmurray@cph.osu.edu

Patrice Desvigne-Nickens, MD
Medical Officer
Heart Failure and Arrhythmias
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
National Heart Lung and Blood Institute
6701 Rockledge drive Room 8176
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: (301) 435-0504
Fax: (301-480-7404
Email: desvignp@mail.nih.gov

William A. Neal, MD
West Virginia University
Robert C. Byrd Health Science Center
Department of Pediatrics
One Medical Center Drive
P.O. Box 9214
Morgantown, WV 26506
Tel: (304) 293-2416
Fax: (304) 293-1409
Email: wneal@hsc.wvu.edu

Cheryl Nelson, MSPH
Program Director
Epidemiology Branch
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences (DCVS)
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
National Institutes of Health
Rockledge Center II, 6701 Rockledge Drive
Room 10194
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: (301) 435-0451
Fax: (301) 480-1667
Email: nelsonc@nhlbi.nih.gov

Michael G Perri, Ph.D., ABPP
Dean, College of Public Health and Health Professions
Robert G. Frank Professor of Clinical and Health Psychology
University of Florida
PO Box 100185
101 S. Newell Dr., Suite 4101
Gainesville, FL 32610 (zip for overnight 32611)
Tel: (352) 273-6214
Fax: (352) 273-6199
Email: mperri@phhp.ufl.edu

Charlotte A. Pratt, Ph.D., RD, FAHA
Program Director
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
Prevention and Population Sciences Program Clinical Application and Prevention Branch
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
6701 Rockledge Drive
MSC 7936, Room 10118
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel.: (301) 435-0382
Fax: (301) 480-5158
Email: prattc@nhlbi.nih.gov

Thomas Ricketts, Ph.D., MPH
Deputy Director, Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research Professor, Health Policy and Management and Social Medicine
Gillings School of Global Public Health
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
135 Dauer Drive
CB# 7400
Chapel Hill, N.C. 27599-7400
Tel: (919) 966-5541
Fax: (919) 966-5764
Email: ricketts@schsr.unc.edu

Joseph Sharkey, Ph.D., M.P.H., RD
Associate Professor, Social and Behavioral Health
Director, Texas Healthy Aging Research Network (TxHAN) Collaborating Center
Director, Program for Research in Nutrition and Health Disparities
Director, Texas Nutrition and Obesity Policy Research Network Collaborating Center
School of Rural Public Health
Texas AM Health Science Center
MS 1266
College Station, TX 77843-1266
Tel: (979) 458.4268
Fax: (979) 458.4264
Email: jrsharkey@srph.tamhsc.edu

Giselle Corbie Smith, MD, MSc
Associate Professor
Department of Social Medicine
Department of Medicine and Division of General Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology
Director, Community Engagement Core
UNC Chapel Hill
Wing D. Medical School /CB# 7240
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7240
Tel: (919) 962-1136
Fax: (919) 966-7499
Email: gcorbie@med.unc.edu

Ron Stallings, MD, FACP
P.O. Box 365
Madison, WV 25130
Tel: 304-369-6194
Fax: 304-369-2126
Email: Ron.stallings@verizon.net

Chastity L. Walker, DrPH, MPH
Office of the Director
Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
4770 Buford Highway, NE, MS K-47
Atlanta, GA 30341
Tel: (770) 488-3013
Fax: (770) 488-8151
Email: cwalker@cdc.gov

Evelyn R. Walker, MD, MPH
Jackson NHLBI Field Site
Jackson Heart Study
350 W. Woodrow Wilson Ave
Jackson, Mississippi 39213
Tel: (601) 979-8754
Fax: (601) 979-8755
Email: ewalker@jsums.edu Walkere@nhlbi.nih.gov

Bridget Ware, MCP
Public Health Analyst
Office of Rural Health Policy/HRSA
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
Tel: (301) 443-3822
Fax: (301) 443-2803
Email: BWare@hrsa.gov

Stephanie Welch
Director
Community Development and Planning
Knox County Health Department
140 Dameron Avenue
Knoxville, Tennessee 37917
Tel: (865) 215-5297
Fax: (865) 215-5148
Email: Stephanie.welch@knoxcounty.org

Karen Williams, MS
868 York Ave, SW
Atlanta, Georgia, 30310
Tel: (404) 752-1400
Email: kwwill@comcast.net

 

Back to Report

Twitter iconTwitterExternal link Disclaimer         Facebook iconFacebookimage of external link icon         YouTube iconYouTubeimage of external link icon         Google+ iconGoogle+image of external link icon