NHLBI Workshop

Data Needs for Cardiovascular Events, Management, and Outcomes

May 26-27, 2005

Speaker List

Executive Summary

 

Gregory L Burke, M.D., M.S.  (Co-Chair)
Professor and Chair
Department of Public Health Sciences
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Medical Center Blvd.

Winston-Salem, NC 27157
gburke@wfubmc.edu

Rose Marie Robertson, M.D. (Co-Chair)
Chief Science Officer
American Heart Association
7272 Greenville Avenue
Dallas TX 75231-4596
rosemarie.robertson@heart.org

Claire Broome, M.D.
Senior Advisor to the Director
Integrated Health Information Systems
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
2960 Brandywine Road, Mailstop D68
Atlanta, GA  30341
cbroome@cdc.gov

Helen Burstin, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Center for Primary Care,
Prevention and Clinical Partnerships
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
6th Floor, Room 6028
540 Gaither Road
Rockville, MD  20850
hburstin@ahrq.gov

David C. Goff, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Section on Epidemiology and Internal Medicine
Public Health Sciences and Internal Medicine
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Medical Center Blvd.
Winston Salem, NC 27157-1063
dgoff@wfubmc.edu

Robert Goldberg, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
55 Lake Avenue North
Worcester, MA  01655
goldberr@ummhc.org

Virginia J. Howard
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
School of Public Health
University of Alabama at Birmingham
210F Ryals Public Health Building
1665 University Blvd.
Birmingham, AL  35294-0022
VHoward@ms.soph.uab.edu

Robert Jesse, M.D., Ph.D.
National Program Director for Cardiology
Veterans Health Administration
Cardiology 111J
1201 Broad Rock Blvd.
Richmond, VA  23249
Robert.Jesse@med.va.gov

Harlan Krumholz, M.D., M.S.
Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology and Public Health
Department of Internal Medicine
Yale University School of Medicine
333 Cedar Street
Room I-456 SHM
New Haven, CT  06510
harlan.krumholz@yale.edu

Russell V. Luepker, M.D.
Professor, Department of Epidemiology
School of Public Health
University of Minnesota
1300 South Second Street, Suite 300
Minneapolis, MN  55454
luepker@epi.umn.edu

Greg Mears, M.D.

Associate Professor

North Carolina EMS Medical Director

EMS Performance Improvement Center

Department of Emergency Medicine

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

10002 Main Street

Chapel Hill, North Carolina  27516

gdm@med.unc.edu

 

Laurie Morrison, M.D., M.Sc.
Director, Prehospital and Transport Medicine Research Program
Division of Emergency Medicine
Department of Medicine
Sunnybrook Health Science Centre
2075 Bayview Avenue, Suite BG-13
North York, Ontario
Canada, M4N 3M5
laurie.morrison@sw.ca

Elizabeth Ofili, M.D., M.P.H.
Chief of Cardiology
Morehouse School of Medicine
720 Westview Drive SW
Atlanta, GA  30310-1495
ofilie@msm.edu

Joseph Ornato, M.D.
Chairman, Emergency Medicine
Box 980525
Main Hospital G248
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA  23284
jornato@mcvh-vcu.edu

Eric D. Peterson, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Associate Vice Chair for Quality
Duke University Medical Center
Director, CV Outcomes Research & Quality
Duke Clinical Research Institute
Box 17969
Durham, NC   27715
peter016@mc.duke.edu

Veronique L. Roger, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Department of Internal Medicine
Mayo Clinic Rochester
200 First Street Southwest
Rochester, MN  55905
roger.veronique@mayo.edu

Wayne Rosamond, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Epidemiology
University of North Carolina
Bank of America, Suite 306
137 E. Franklin Street
Chapel Hill, NC  27514
wayne_rosamond@unc.edu

Marcel Salive, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Division of Medical and Surgical Services
Coverage and Analysis Group
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
7500 Security Boulevard C1-09-28
Baltimore, MD 21244
MSalive@cms.hhs.gov

Veikko Salomaa, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Physician, Head of the Chronic Disease Epidemiology Unit
Department of Epidemiology and Health Promotion
National Public Health Institute
Mannerheimintie 166, FIN-00300
Helsinki, Finland
veikko.salomaa@ktl.fi

Eduardo J. Sanchez, M.D., M.P.H.
Commissioner
Texas Department of State Health Services
Mail code 1911
1100 West 49th Street, M-751
Austin, TX  78756-3199
(Assistant Emma Gomez receives email:
emma.gomez@dshs.state.tx.us
)

Joseph Selby, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Division of Research
Kaiser Northern California
3505 Broadway
Oakland, CA  64611
jvs@dor.kaiser.org

Jane E. Sisk, Ph.D.
Director, Division of Health Care Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
3311 Toledo Road
Hyattsville, MD 20782
hzs2@cdc.gov

Zhi-Jie Zheng, M.D., Ph.D.
Lead Epidemiologist/ CVD Registries Team Leader
Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program    
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention     
4770 Buford Hwy NE, Mailstop K-47              
Atlanta, GA 30341-3717
zaz7@CDC.GOV  

Additional Planning Group Members

Janet B. Croft, PhD
Lead Epidemiologist
Cardiovascular Health Branch,
Division of Adult and Community Health,
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion,
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Mailstop K-47, 4770 Buford Hwy NE
Atlanta GA 30341
jbc0@cdc.gov

Lawrence Fine, M.D.
Leader, Clinical Prevention and Translation Scientific Research Group
Division of Epidemiology and Clinical Applications
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 8138
Bethesda, MD 20892-7936
lf128x@nih.gov

Mary M. Hand, R.N., M.S.P.H.
Coordinator, National Heart Attack Alert Program
Office of Prevention, Education, and Control
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
31 Center Drive, Room 4A16
Bethesda, MD 20892-2480
handm@nhlbi.nih.gov

Teri A. Manolio, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Epidemiology and Biometry Program
Division of Epidemiology and Clinical Applications
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 81603
Bethesda, MD 20892-7934
manoliot@nhlbi.nih.gov

Jean Olson, M.D., M.P.H.
Leader, Field Studies and Clinical Epidemiology Scientific Research Group
Division of Epidemiology and Clinical Applications
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 8154
Bethesda, MD 20892-7934
olsonj@nhlbi.nih.gov

Gina S. Wei, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer, Field Studies and Clinical Epidemiology
Scientific Research Group
Division of Epidemiology and Clinical Applications
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health
6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 8150
Bethesda, MD 20892-7934
weig@nhlbi.nih.gov

Back to Table of Contents

Skip footer links and go to content
Twitter iconTwitterExternal link Disclaimer         Facebook iconFacebookimage of external link icon         YouTube iconYouTubeimage of external link icon         Google+ iconGoogle+image of external link icon

Skip footer links and go to content
Twitter iconTwitterExternal link Disclaimer         Facebook iconFacebookimage of external link icon         YouTube iconYouTubeimage of external link icon         Google+ iconGoogle+image of external link icon