National Sleep Disorders Research Plan
 
   
arrow image Return to Table of Contents  
Chair: Stuart F. Quan, M.D.
Professor of Medicine, Respiratory Sciences Center
The University of Arizona College of Medicine
1501 North Campbell Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85724
squan@resp-sci.arizona.edu
Gene D. Block Ph.D.
Vice President and Provost
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA 22904-2477
gdb@virginia.edu
Sarah J. Caddick, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Wadsworth Foundation
3601 Fremont Ave N. Ste. 303
Seattle, WA 98103
sarahc@wadsworthfoundation.org
Mary Carskadon, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
Brown University School of Medicine
E. P. Bradley Hospital Sleep Research Laboratory
1011 Veterans Memorial Parkway
East Providence, RI 02915
mary_carskadon@brown.edu

Kathryn A. Lee, Ph.D.
Professor, Family Health Care Nursing
School of Nursing
University of California, San Francisco
2 Koret Way, Box 0606
San Francisco, CA 94143
kathy.lee@nursing.ucsf.edu

Sandra McGinnis
176 Governors Road
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
james.mcginnis@mx3.com
Rafael Pelayo, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Stanford University
401 Quarry Road, PBS 3350
Stanford, CA 94305
pelayo@stanford.edu
Susan Redline, M.D., M.P.H.
Chief, Division of Clinical Epidemiology
Department of Pediatrics
Case Western Reserve University Rainbow Babies and Childrens' Hospital
11400 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
sxr15@po.cwru.edu
Clifford B. Saper, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Neurology and Program in Neuroscience
Harvard Medical School
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
330 Brookline Avenue
Boston, MA 02215
csaper@caregroup.harvard.edu
Michael J. Sateia, M.D.
Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Section of Sleep Medicine
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Lebanon, NH 03756 Michael.J.Sateia@dartmouth.edu

Ms. Dara D. Spearman
2816 Pittsfield Boulevard
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Mr. Phillip L. Williams
4472 Golf Club Lane
Brooksville, FL 34609
pwilli16@tampabay.rr.com
Sleep Disorders Research Advisory Board - Ex Officio Members
Colonel Gregory Belenky, M.D.
Director, Division of Neuropsychiatry
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
Washington, DC 20307-5100
gregory.belenky@na.amedd.army.mil
Robert Wolfe Greene, M.D., Ph.D.
UT Southwestern Medical Center
4500 South Lancaster Road
Dallas, TX 75214
robertw.greene@utsouthwestern.edu
Carl E. Hunt, M.D., SDRAB Executive Secretary
Director, National Center on Sleep Disorders Research
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute/NIH
Two Rockledge Center, Suite 10038
6701 Rockledge Drive MSC 7920
Bethesda, MD 20892-7920
huntc@nhlbi.nih.gov
Israel Lederhendler, Ph.D. *
Coordinator for Sleep Research
National Institute of Mental Health/NIH
Neuroscience Center, MSC 9637
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 7169
Bethesda, MD 20892-9637
ilu@helix.nih.gov
Claude Lenfant, M.D.
Director, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute/NIH
9000 Rockville Pike
Building 31, Room 5A52
Bethesda, MD 20892
lenfantc@nhlbi.nih.gov
Andrew Monjan, Ph.D., M.P.H. *
Chief of Neurobiology and Neuropsychology
Neuroscience and Neuropsychology of Aging Program
National Institute on Aging/NIH
Gateway Building, Suite 3C307
Bethesda, MD 20892
am39m@nih.gov
Merrill M. Mitler, Ph.D. *
Program Director, Systems and Cognitive Neuroscience
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke/NIH
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 2108, MSC 9521
Bethesda, MD 20892-9521
mitlerm@ninds.nih.gov
Marian Willinger, Ph.D. *
Health Scientist Administrator
Pregnancy & Perinatology Branch
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development/NIH
6100 Executive Boulevard, Room 4B03D
Bethesda, MD 20892
mw75q@nih.gov
Eve E. Slater, M.D.
Assistant Secretary for Health
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC 20201
Elias Zerhouni, M.D.
Director, National Institutes of Health
One Center Drive
Building 1, Room 126
MSC 0148
Bethesda, MD 20892
execsec1@od.nih.gov
Sleep Disorders Research Advisory Board - Liaison Members
Deborah Ader, Ph.D. *
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeltal and Skin Diseases
45 Center Drive, Rm5As19H
Bethesda, MD 20892
aderd@mail.nih.gov
Daniel P. Chapman, Ph.D., M.S.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
4770 Buford Highway, N.E Mailstop K-45
Atlanta, GA 30341
dpc2@cdc.gov
Harold Gordon, Ph.D. *
Program Official, Clinical Neurobiology Branch
Division of Treatment Research & Development
National Institute on Drug Abuse/NIH
6001 Executive Boulevard Room 4233, MSC 9551
Bethesda, MD 20892-9551
hg23r@nih.gov
Mary Leveck, Ph.D., R.N. *
Deputy Director, National Institute of Nursing Research
Building 31, Room 5B05
Bethesda, MD 20892-2178
mary.leveck@nih.gov

Adrienne Oneto
Chief, Health Surveys Branch
Bureau of the Census, Demographic Surveys Division
Building 3, Room 3442
Washington, DC 20233
Adrienne.C.Oneto@census.gov
Nancy Pearson, Ph.D. *
National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine/NIH
6707 Democracy Blvd. Room 401
Bethesda, MD 20892
pearsonn@mail.nih.gov
Christopher Platt, Ph.D.
Program Director, Neuroscience
Division of Integrative Biology and Neuroscience
National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Room 685
Arlington, VA 22230
cplatt@nsf.gov
Thomas G. Raslear, Ph.D.
Senior Human Factors Program Manager
Office of Research & Development
Federal Railroad Administration
U.S. Department of Transportation
Washington, DC 20590
thomas.raslear@fra.dot.gov
Roger R. Rosa, Ph.D.
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
200 Independence Avenue, N.W. Room 715 H
Washington, DC 20201
rrosa@cdc.gov
George Ruby, M.D.
United States Department of Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Division of Science Technology and Medicine
Department of Labor
Room N3653, 200 Constitution Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC 20210
george.ruby@osha.gov
Bette Siegel, Ph.D.
BioAstronautics Division, Code UB, Room 8Q13
NASA Headquarters, 300 E Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20546
bsiegel@hq.nasa.gov
Ellen Witt, Ph.D. *
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism/NIH
Willco Building, Suite 402
6000 Executive Boulevard, MSC 7003
Bethesda, MD 20982-7003
ewitt@willco.niaaa.nih.gov
* Member of the Trans NIH Sleep Research Coordinating Committee
  Appendix Sections
APPENDIX C: NIH SLEEP-RELATED INITIATIVES: 1996-2002
APPENDIX A: SLEEP DISORDERS RESEARCH PLAN REVISION TASK FORCE
ABBREVIATIONS
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
National Institutes of Health (NIH) Department of Health and Human Services (click here) First Gov Website (Click here)
National Center on Sleep Disorders Research (Click Here) National Heart Lung and Blood Institute (Click Here)